School History

Stranmillis Primary School pupils and staff circa 1920

Stranmillis Primary School pupils and staff circa 1920

Stranmillis is a co-educational, controlled primary school which has been serving South Belfast since 1902.  Our school was originally founded by Fisherwick Presbyterian Church and operated from a mission hall near the church. When the school opened 222 children were on its roll. Shortly after this we moved to a new building situated near where the Ordinance Survey offices are on the Stranmillis Road.

In the 1920’s Fisherwick transferred its responsibilities for the school to the newly established Stranmillis Teacher Training College and we became a ‘teaching school’ for students and their lecturers. We were the only school to have such a relationship and indeed this link continues to this day with four of the school’s Governors being appointed by Stranmillis University College.

Old Stranmillis Road School location

Old Stranmillis Road School location

In the mid-sixties a new school was built on our present site and was original called Richmond Primary School but we soon reverted to our original name. The school has always been popular within its local community and has grown in size and reputation steadily over the years reaching its maximum enrolment of 462 just last year.

We are a unique school community drawing our children from home backgrounds that are rich and diverse in their cultural, ethnic, social and religious origins.  Such diversity adds enormously to our school and helps provide our children with a stimulating and challenging environment in which to develop and flourish. There are, for example, some twenty different ‘home’ languages spoken here, representing a wide range of nationalities and ethnic groups.  The school received the ‘International School Award’ from the British Council for the third time in 2010 and remains open to developing links with schools and organisations within the UK and Ireland, as well as other countries.