School Logo

Stranmillis Primary School

A quality education in a caring environment

Interactive bar

Get in touch

Contact Details


Board of Governors

The Board of Governors of Stranmillis Primary School comprises two parent governors, one teacher representative, two representatives from the Education Authority and four Transferor representatives from Stranmillis University College. The School Principal, while not a Board member, is in attendance and acts as secretary. Each Board sits for four years, with this current Board of Governors having been constituted in September 2018.


The members of the Board of Governors are as follows:

Board Representatives 
Dr Maureen Thatcher (chair)
Dr Andrew Charles

Parents’ Representatives 
Mr John Murray
Mrs Jane Moriarty

Teachers’ Representative
Mrs Deirdre Hill

Transferors’ Representatives
Ms Denise Elliott
Mrs Rachel Campbell
Mrs Dawn Brown
Mr Paul Mifsud


The Responsibilities of a Board of Governors

Governors are obliged to carry out specific duties in relation to:

  • admission of pupils (admissions policy, enrolment restrictions);
  • finance (allocating funds, teachers’ pay policy, use of facilities);
  • curriculum (ensure the Northern Ireland Curriculum is being delivered and assessed, ensure the education of children with Special Educational Needs);
  • management of staff (appointment of teachers and other staff, disciplinary and grievance procedures);
  • school inspections (take account of any inspection findings);
  • reporting to parents (annual report);
  • premises management (inspections, repairs and maintenance, health and safety, school security); and
  • pupils (pastoral care including child protection, discipline.)

Download our Annual Report for 2018/19